Nature Sound Recording: A Beginner’s Guide

It is a special time of year when the birds start singing again. Here in central Michigan, that time is here! For several weeks, I’ve heard American Robins singing in the early mornings, but now they are joined by the whistles of Northern Cardinals and the eclectic songs of Song Sparrows, among many other melodies.

For about ten years now, off and on, I’ve had the pleasure to be able to record the vocalizations of birds and other animals. While I very much enjoy just listening in the moment, forgetting about the future, it is also fun to be able to capture a sonic moment that I can come back to later. I thought I’d share some of what I’ve learned about recording Nature sounds—a very brief beginner’s guide—just in case you are interested in giving it a try.

Let’s start with recording equipment. Thus far, I’ve been a ‘birder on a budget.’ My recording equipment reflects that fact, but for me it has been sufficient to make some nice recordings. My impression is that the microphone is the most important piece of equipment that you can invest in as a recordist. I use a ‘shotgun,’ unidirectional microphone that focuses on the sound in front of it, rather than sound all around (so, not ‘omnidirectional’).

A parabolic microphone uses an omnidirectional microphone in concert with a dish to amplify a sound of interest, which can do a great job at pulling in distant sound. If I had more funds available for this hobby, I’d probably use a parabolic microphone, like this one:

However, I’m happy with the shotgun microphone for now. This requires me to get closer to the animal I’m recording, which is a fun challenge. Even a little wind can cause a lot of noise in recordings. I’d recommend getting a windscreen for your microphone, like this ‘DeadCat’ one:

There are many digital recorders to choose from. Economical Tascam and Marantz recorders have worked well for me. I’d suggest choosing a recorder with an XLR cable input that your quality microphone can plug into (you’ll often need to buy an XLR cable separately from your microphone). Within recorder settings, I’d recommend choosing the .wav format if you want to capture high-quality recordings. This increases file size, but also best represents the sound, which could be important if you want to contribute your recordings to science (more on that below). I have been using headphones when I record, which is an effective approach for knowing what the microphone is picking up. Over-ear headphones work best for me and provide a great way to experience Nature sounds; it is always amazing to be able to clearly hear the song of a quiet bird like a Brown Creeper as if I were right next to it, when I’m wearing headphones and in good position with my shotgun microphone. Be aware that your microphone can pick up feedback. So, if you have your headphones around your neck, the microphone might pick up on the sound coming from your headphones and produce a terrible, high-pitched screech. If you do decide to try to wear headphones when recording, be sure to be aware of your surroundings. Take off the headphones periodically so that you don’t miss an interesting sound somewhere other than where you are pointing your microphone. It also will keep you safer to be aware of your surroundings. This can be especially important given that walking around with a shotgun microphone can look suspicious! When others are around, do your best to be respectful of their privacy and potential tendency to suspect the worst.

Once you are done recording, I’d suggest using the program Audacity to visualize your recordings and perhaps filter out noise (be careful filtering; avoid degrading the sound you are interested in). Audacity is free and quite accessible for beginners. You might also want to check out Raven Lite, another free program which provides tools for measuring characteristics of sound, particularly bird vocalizations. Here is what a spectrogram of a Red-winged Blackbird call looks like in Audacity, with time on the x (horizontal) axis and frequency (pitch) on the y axis:

I’d recommend making a database overviewing what is in each recording. This could be as simple as a spreadsheet that includes the recording name, what species are present in the recording, where the recording was made, what time the recording was made, and what equipment were used. If you record this information, you can come back to your recordings months or years later and have knowledge of its meaning. Having this information could help you share valuable information with others.

For example, you might want to upload your recordings to a website like Xeno-Canto, where people from around the world upload bird recordings. It helps to have detailed information about recording details if you submit your recordings in this way. The Macaulay Library is another place where you can upload your recordings, especially if they are .wav files (the best way to represent sound). Sharing what you record could provide not only joy to other Nature sound enthusiasts, but also opportunities for scientists to use the recordings to better understand and conserve the organism(s) that you recorded.

If at all interested, I hope you give Nature sound recording a shot. You could even start by using the recorder on your phone and then try using the approaches I’ve described here if you enjoy that. Focusing on something like a bird song during an early morning, when it is just you and another part of Nature, is a fantastic way to forget about what may be troubling you. I certainly look forward to getting out to the woods with my recording gear soon.

6 thoughts on “Nature Sound Recording: A Beginner’s Guide

  1. Dear Dustin Brewer,

    Acknowledgement is due to you for publishing a rather thorough guide for beginners to record natural sounds. I certainly appreciate your effort and recognize your passion for Nature, considering that I have completed an academic thesis centering on the investigation and classification of biomusic. It is entitled “entitled “Biomusic: Sounds of the New Biosocial and Ecological Landscape” in which environmental music, soundscape, situational music, animal music and plant music are some of the major categories that I investigated and classified. It is still not often acknowledged in full that (maintaining and nurturing) the quality of soundscape is an essential part of the sustainability process. At the time, being green, ecologically sound and environmentally conscious in the academic circle was still a considerable challenge, which was amplified even more since I was straddling multiple fields and intellectual domains, including those that are (or used to be much more) diametrically opposed. As a result, I was definitely in the minority for a long time. One examiner confessed to not understanding 99% of my thesis, even though he gave me an unprecendented near-perfect score of 98 out of 100. He came from the University of Southern California. In contrast, the second examiner had issues and I soon became an unfortunate victim in several ways. Another examiner criticized some of my findings as proselytizing and scaremongering with doomsday scenarios about our way of life and the state of our mother Earth.

    Before and since then, I have/had encountered academic blinkers and bigotries, especially when stepping outside people’s comfort zones are required or essential; when the assumptions and (internal and external) validities of their works are brought into question; and when interdisciplinarity, multidisciplinarity and transdisciplinarity are involved.

    In an academically written post, I have explored not just biomusic and soundscape but also human-animal interactions, consciousness/intelligence and art as well as consciousness/intelligence and music, not just in humans but also in nonhumans, even including some unique takes on, and certain premises with respect to, interspecies communication in conjunction with our (mis)understanding of animal artistry and musicality, as discussed in great detail in one of my latest posts entitled “Do Animals Create Art and Music? 🎵🐕🎶🐒🎹🐘🖼🐬🎨“, available at

    Do Animals Create Art and Music? 🎵🐕🎶🐒🎹🐘🖼🐬🎨

    You are very welcome to join the discussion at my said post and offer your feedback, insight, doubt, opinion or the like. The post also discusses in detail many outstanding issues that have been preventing humans from relating well to nonhumans and Nature holistically. On the whole, we humans are often too absorbed in our own affairs to notice two big elephants in the room: speciesism and anthropocentricism. Both are highly entrenched, and both are very widespread and often unacknowledged forms of prejudice, discrimination and bigotry. Despite years of fleshing out the (conceptual, philosophical, ethical, practical and/or social) framework in examining the possibility or plausibility of environmentalism meeting the needs and expectations of all humanity to help us to survive as a species, fundamental progress is still far too slow.

    As you probably already know, we are already in the midst of the Sixth Great Extinction. As mentioned, the main issue is twofold: speciesism and anthropocentricism. Until we critically deal with the main issue, even environmentalism in all its diversity may not suffice to turn things around.

    Being simultaneously witty and serious about a number of outstanding issues, the said post actually ventures far beyond whatever its title may suggest or mean to any reader, especially in the very long “Conclusions” section. Please note the ISEA Model that I have devised to analyse and describe the Instrumental, Spiritual, Pro-Environment and Pro-Animal/Plant perspectives.

    Like many controversial and sociopolitically fraught matters such as nonbinary sexual identity and transgender issues as well as other perennial issues regarding equality, society, race, gender, class, religion and civil rights, a successful mounting of truly multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary exploration of interspecies interactions and communications can be especially complex, challenging and confronting in that they can and tend to transcend many boundaries and expectations imposed by human customs and belief systems.

    I welcome your input since I am curious to know what you make of my said post as well as your perspectives on those matters discussed in my post. I look forward to savouring your feedback there!

    Once again, I commend you highly for exploring and recording the sounds of Nature with so much dedication.

    Wishing you a productive springtime doing or enjoying whatever that satisfies you the most, whether aesthetically, physically, intellectually or spiritually!

    Yours sincerely,
    SoundEagle

    Like

    1. Hi SoundEagle,

      Thank you for your interest in Nature Recording! I’m sorry to hear about the challenges you mentioned regarding your thesis; hopefully you still found the process of writing it to be rewarding. I look forward to reading the post that you mentioned. Many human musicians have certainly been inspired by animal sounds, and there’s no doubt that animal sounds can be musical.

      I agree that it can be hard for us, as humans, to see the larger ecological picture that we are a part of. Seeing that could go a long way toward reducing the extinction rate, which is definitely startling. Perhaps there is a place for appreciating Natural music in efforts to achieve more effective wildlife conservation.

      Thanks again,

      Dustin

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Dustin,

        You are very welcome. Thank you for your heartfelt reply. By the way, I would like to inform you that since my intricate blog contains advanced styling and multimedia components plus dynamic animations, it is advisable to avoid viewing the contents of my blog using the WordPress Reader, which cannot show many of the advanced features and animations in my posts and pages. It is best to read the posts and pages directly in my blog so that you will be able to savour and relish all of the refined and glorious details plus animations.

        Furthermore, my blog contains not just text and images but also bespoke stylings and dynamic animations — images and stories that are animated on their own. These are not videos but actual animations. You will realize very soon that my blog is unlike any other that you have ever visited. The effects are going to be great on the large screen of your desktop or laptop computer.

        Therefore, it is preferrable to use a desktop or laptop computer with a large screen to view the rich multimedia contents available for heightening your multisensory enjoyment at my blog, which could be too powerful and feature-rich for iPad, iPhone, tablet or other portable devices to handle properly or adequately.

        In addition, please turn on your finest speakers or headphones, as some posts will be playing one or more of my musical compositions to you automatically.

        Wishing you a productive week doing or enjoying whatever that satisfies you the most!

        Yours sincerely,
        SoundEagle

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dear Dustin,

        In short, many of the ideas and research areas of my said thesis were pioneering and therefore unfamiliar and misunderstood by the examiners. Despite the difficulties, I was still awarded two large scholarships and went on to tackling many other knowledge fields.

        I intend to publish a new post in a day or two, should nothing intervene.

        Yours sincerely,
        SoundEagle

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for taking the time to teach me about sound recordings, I’m sure birds and other sounds of nature can benefit from this ‘beginners guide’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment